First Commit

 

Workspace

Okay, here we go.

Before setting up this blog, I was installing rails from my terminal to get started on this Sass tutorial on YouTube. The thing is, I missed the lesson on the topic a few days back at my coding boot camp, Digital Crafts, and I needed to catch up.

My Chrome has several tabs open on how to make a Soundcloud music player because I have their API key and have already started making a website that will feature only chill-hop music (How? I’ll figure it out. It’s what I do.), one of my top three favorite genres of music (the other two are alt rock and epic music–great for writing, by the way).

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 3.25.59 PM

The home page of my chill-hop player web app, using the Soundcloud API, made with express

If you’re lost, that’s okay. Three months before I dove into web development, I was lost too (and still am but in different ways.) Let me start from the beginning.

Six years ago, I graduated from a master’s program at Columbia University and made the grand decision of leaving the U.S. for Seoul, South Korea to teach ESL (English as a Second Language). Living abroad for the first time in a completely different culture did all the wonderful things you hear people talk about after time spent in a foreign country: you become wiser, more appreciative of other cultures, more understanding, your worldview expands, you find your true self, etc.

The challenges were great as well; there were times I suffered crippling homesickness and loneliness but learned to overcome the two as time passed. I spent the next five years teaching ESL in schools and community colleges and even went to Japan to teach in a small country town there, all while trying to become a published author in science fiction.

The return home was tougher this time around. I was almost thirty and didn’t want to continue teaching ESL, even though I had enjoyed teaching my students from past classes. And life as an aspiring author was not sustainable in any way or form. Might as well go live in a makeshift hut in the woods.

Deciding on my next career move loomed over my head, and I felt internal pressure to make a decision fast. I contemplated reapplying to Ph.D. programs in sociology or English literature (I hadn’t targeted the right schools the first time around),  but I asked myself, “Do you really want to spend the next five-plus years in school?” My gut answer was no.

What to do? What to do?

Luckily, my brother had enrolled in a coding boot camp, Digital Crafts, here in Atlanta, and sung to me its praises. Hmm, web development… I had taken C++ in high school and remembered how much I enjoyed it. Sometime three years ago, I had even wanted to return to school to study computer science.

Why not skip getting a second bachelor’s degree and try a boot camp instead? I loved challenges and my creative spirit told me I’d most likely enjoy the building and problem-solving aspects of programming.

Fast-forward to the present. I have found an intense passion for coding because I’ve found myself spending six to seven hours working and studying while not even batting an eye at the clock. I love this stuff. A lot.

Maybe even as much as I love writing (if you know how deeply I felt about writing–I’m talking god-level love here, ladies, gents, and others–you’d be surprised). But this boot camp consumes huge chunks of my time so I haven’t had the chance to write as much as I’d like to, but I will once August rolls in. That’s when I graduate. Excited.

And that’s pretty much it for now. Next time, I’ll update you on making my chill-hop music player, starting CS50 at Haaavad (Bostonian here), and giving you a peek at my capstone project, a web application to help writers write books. Yay. Calling it writeIt. Don’t steal that, folks. Just kidding.

Stay amazing,

CSS

Leave a Reply

